The 2011 Puskás Goal of the Year nominees | inside World Soccer

The 2011 Puskás Goal of the Year nominees

[Saturday, November 19, 2011 ]

For only the third time ever, FIFA have released the Puskás Goal of the Year nominees for 2011 and the nominees are as follows.

Goal#1Lionel Messi (Barcelona)vs Arsenal
Goal#2Neymar (Santos)vs Flamengo
Goal#3Benjamin de Ceulaer (Lokeren)vs Club Brugge
Goal#4Giovani dos Santos (Mexico)vs USA
Goal#5Zlatan Ibrahimović (AC Milan)vs Lecce
Goal#6Julio Gómez (Mexico U-17)vs Germany U-17
Goal#7Lisandro López (Arsenal Sarandí)vs Olimpo
Goal#8Heather O’Reilly (USA Women)vs Colombia Women
Goal#9Dejan Stanković (Inter Milan)vs Schalke 04
Goal#10Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)vs Manchester City

Users of and websites can vote until December 5, when a final shortlist of three goals will be announced.

The winner of the award, named for Hungarian great Ferenc Puskás, is announced January 9 at FIFA's annual Golden Ball gala.

Don't forget to check us out on Twitter and Facebook for more soccer updates!

Also see: