Four Man United players nominated for Ballon d'Or

Table of Contents
Champions League and Premier League holders Manchester United has four nominees on a 30-man shortlist to win the European Footballer of the Year award.

Cristiano Ronaldo, Wayne Rooney, Nemanja Vidić and keeper Edwin Van Der Sar all made the shortlist for the Ballon d'Or.

Their rivals Chelsea also earned nominations for Frank Lampard, Michael Ballack and Didier Drogba.

The shortlist is compiled by France Football magazine which is based on nominations from football writers around the world.

The Euro 2008 winner Spain is the best represented country with seven players, including Liverpool hitman Fernando Torres.

However, there are no places for Thierry Henry or Ronaldinho this time, with former winners Fabio Cannavaro and Andriy Shevchenko were also excluded.

Portuguese star Ronaldo and Barcelona’s Lionel Messi are the favourite to win the award on December 2.

Here are the 30 nominees:

Emmanuel Adebayor (Togo, Arsenal), Sergio Aguero (Argentina, Atletico Madrid), Andrey Arshavin (Russia, Zenit St Petersburg), Michael Ballack (Germany, Chelsea), Karim Benzema (France, Lyon), Gianluigi Buffon (Italy, Juventus), Iker Casillas (Spain, Real Madrid), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Manchester United), Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast, Chelsea), Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon, Barcelona), Cesc Fabregas (Spain, Arsenal), Steven Gerrard (England, Liverpool), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden, Inter Milan), Kaka (Brazil, AC Milan), Frank Lampard (England, Chelsea), Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona), Pepe (Portugal, Real Madrid), Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid), Franck Ribery (France, Bayern Munich), Wayne Rooney (England, Manchester United), Marcos Senna (Spain, Villarreal), Luca Toni (Italy, Bayern Munich), Fernando Torres (Spain, Liverpool), Edwin van Der Sar (Netherlands, Manchester United), Rafael Van Der Vaart (Netherlands, Real Madrid), Ruud van Nistelrooy (Netherlands, Real Madrid), Nemanja Vidic (Serbia, Manchester United), David Villa (Spain, Valencia), Xavi (Spain, Barcelona), Yuri Zhirkov (Russia, CSKA Moscow)

Please subscribe to our RSS feed to receive more updates. You can also subscribe by Email and enjoy our latest posts sent directly to your inbox.

Also see:

Post a Comment