Blues' Player of the Year hat-trick for Lampard

Table of Contents
England midfielder Frank Lampard has become the first Chelsea player to win the club’s Player of the Year award for the third time.

Lampard, who won the title in 2004 and 2005, was again voted the leading performer over the season by the club's fans.

The 30-year-old, who signed from West Ham in 2001, has scored 19 times this season to take his club total to 129.

Stamford Bridge favourites John Hollins, Charlie Cooke, Ray Wilkins, David Webb, John Terry, Dennis Wise and Gianfranco Zola have all won the accolade on two occasions.

"It feels great because of the amount of top-quality players who have won this award," Lampard said.

"When I came here I never expected to win it three times at all. I just wanted to establish myself.

"But getting this award and the recognition from your own fans is a huge thing in football. I am absolutely delighted."

Please subscribe to our RSS feed to receive more updates. You can also subscribe by Email and enjoy our latest posts sent directly to your inbox.

Related links:



Also see:

Post a Comment