Eduardo charged by UEFA for 'deceiving referee' | inside World Soccer


Eduardo charged by UEFA for 'deceiving referee'

Saturday, August 29, 2009

Eduardo da Silva was charged by UEFA on Friday with "deceiving the referee" by diving to win a penalty in Arsenal's 3-1 over Celtic in midweek.

The Croatian hitman tumbled under a challenge from Hoops keeper Artur Boruc after bursting into the box.

Referee Manuel Mejuto González immediately pointed to the spot, but replays proved there had been minimal contact between the pair.


A UEFA statement said: "Having studied video evidence of the incident in question, the UEFA disciplinary inspector decided to charge the player concerned.

"The UEFA control and disciplinary body will examine the case on September 1."

Should UEFA decide to take further action against Eduardo, it is expected that he will be banned for the Gunners' first two games in the group stages of the Champions League - against Standard Liège and Olympiakos.

Please subscribe to our RSS feed to receive more updates. You can also subscribe by Email and enjoy our latest posts sent directly to your inbox.


Related links:

Team


Personal

Also see:
 
Copyright © 2016. inside World Soccer | Privacy Policy
Design by Herdiansyah Hamzah & Distributed by Free Blogger Templates
Creative Commons License