UEFA overturn Eduardo diving ban

Table of Contents
Arsenal striker Eduardo has seen his two-match Champions League ban overturned UEFA's Appeals Body.

The Croatia international was handed the punishment for diving for a penalty and "deceiving the referee" in the Gunners’ Champions League play-off return leg at home to Celtic last month.

The North London club responded to the punishment by issuing an immediate appeal and have now seen Eduardo's suspension been dropped, leaving him free to feature in their opening Group H clash away to Standard Li├Ęge on Wednesday.

A statement from UEFA said: "Following examination of all the evidence, notably the declarations of both the referee and the referees' assessor, as well as the various video footage, it was not established to the panel's satisfaction that the referee had been deceived in taking his decision on the penalty."

Eduardo has also hailed the decision, insisting that he would never attempt to cheat during a match.

He told the club's website: "I'm very pleased that we have finally arrived at the truth.

"All we needed to do was to prove what happened and we have managed to do that. This decision makes me feel a lot better."

"I just want to say that I am a fair player. To score goals you must take your opportunities and I'm not the type of player who needs to be dishonest to score goals."

Please subscribe to our RSS feed to receive more updates. You can also subscribe by Email and enjoy our latest posts sent directly to your inbox.

Related links:



Also see:

Post a Comment