World Cup 2010 Semi-Final: Germany 0-1 Spain

Table of Contents
European champions Spain reached their first ever World Cup final after a 1-0 semi-final victory over Germany at the Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban.

In a rematch of the Euro 2008 final that Spain won by the same score, Carles Puyol's thunderous header from Xavi's 73rd-minute corner finally gave Vicente del Bosque's troops the lead after they dominated from the opening whistle.

In Sunday's final at Soccer City, Spain will meet the Netherlands, which has also never won football's biggest trophy.

While Germany will face Uruguay in the third-place match Saturday in Port Elizabeth.


Germany: Manuel Neuer; Philipp Lahm, Per Mertesacker, Arne Friedrich, Jérôme Boateng (Marcell Jansen, 52); Sami Khedira (Mario Gómez, 81), Bastian Schweinsteiger; Piotr Trochowski (Toni Kroos, 62), Mesut Özil, Lukas Podolski; Miroslav Klose

Spain: Iker Casillas; Sergio Ramos, Gerard Piqué, Carles Puyol, Joan Capdevila; Sergio Busquets, Xabi Alonso (Carlos Marchena 90); Andrés Iniesta, Xavi, Pedro (David Silva, 85); David Villa (Fernando Torres, 81)

2Shots on target5
1Shots off target7
0Yellow Cards0
0Red Cards0
49Ball possession (%)51

Please subscribe to our RSS feed to receive more updates. You can also subscribe by Email and enjoy our latest posts sent directly to your inbox.

Also see:

Post a Comment