Euro 2012 qualifier: Germany 6-1 Azerbaijan

Table of Contents
Germany kept up their good start in Euro 2012 qualifying as they routed Azerbaijan 6-1 in Cologne.

Defender Heiko Westermann opened the scoring after 28th minutes, Lukas Podolski doubled the lead in the 45th minute and Miroslav Klose made it three in first-half injury time.

Rashad Sadygov put through his own net for 4-0 in the 53rd minute before Azerbaijan found the right net four minutes later through a huge mistake by Germany goalkeeper Manuel Neuer, who fumbled a corner from Vagif Javadov.

Holder Badstuber's header on 86 minutes made it 5-1 before a late second from Klose gave the score line further gloss.


Germany: Manuel Neuer; Sascha Riether, Per Mertesacker (Heiko Westermann, 11), Holger Badstuber, Philipp Lahm; Sami Khedira, Bastian Schweinsteiger (Cacau, 78); Thomas Müller (Marko Marin, 62), Mesut Özil, Lukas Podolski, Miroslav Klose

Azerbaijan: Kamran Agayev; Maksim Medvedev, Rashad Sadygov, Saşa Yunisoğlu (Vurgun Huseynov, 56), Elnur Allahverdiyev, Mahir Shukurov; Rail Melikov, Aleksandr Chertoganov (Rashad Sadyqov, 64), Samir Abbasov; Vugar Nadyrov (Araz Abdullayev, 86), Vagif Javadov

Join us on Twitter and Facebook to receive more updates.

Also see:

Post a Comment