Wayne Rooney claims PFA Player of the Year award

Table of Contents
Manchester United striker Wayne Rooney has been voted player of the year by his peers in the Professional Footballers' Association.

Wayne Rooney with his trophy for PFA Players Player of the Year
Photo: PA
Rooney, the first Englishman to win the award since Steven Gerrard in 2006, was hot favourite to take the honour after a marvelous season that has seen him score 34 times in all competitions and help the Red Devils in their bid for a fourth consecutive Premier League title.

The 24-year-old beat off competition from Arsenal captain Cesc Fàbregas, Chelsea striker Didier Drogba and Manchester City forward Carlos Tévez.

"It's a great feeling to win the Player of the Year award because it's voted for by the players," said Rooney.

"It's something I'm really proud of and it's a great honour.

"I remember coming here in 2005 and 2006 to win the Young Player of the Year.

"I saw the players winning the main one and it's something I've aimed for since."

With Rooney winning the award this season it means that a United player has won the award for the fourth year in a row as Ryan Giggs won it last year and Cristiano Ronaldo received the award each of the two seasons before that.

Don't forget to check us out on Twitter and Facebook for more soccer updates!

Related links:



Also see:

Post a Comment