World Cup 2010 Final: Netherlands 0-1 (AET) Spain

Table of Contents
Andrés Iniesta scored with four minutes left of extra-time to help Spain beat the Netherlands 1-0 in a fractious World Cup final at Soccer City Stadium in Johannesburg.

The Dutch had a golden opportunity to take the lead when Arjen Robben broke free on 62 minutes but his low shot to the far post was brilliantly kept out with the toe of goalkeeper Iker Casillas' right boot.

There was another chance for Robben as he was clear again with seven minutes of normal time remaining. But, despite having the opportunity to go down under a Carles Puyol challenge, Robben eventually lost possession as Casillas gathered.

In the 19th minute of extra-time, Dutch defender John Heitinga was dismissed for second bookable offence to become only the fifth man to be sent off in a World Cup final.

And with four minutes remaining, Spain scored the goal that won them the 2010 World Cup. Iniesta collected a sliding pass into the area from substitute Cesc Fàbregas and smashed the ball past Maarten Stekelenburg with aplomb, sparking delirium from the Spanish players as they completed their mission for world domination.

The success completes a marvellous two years for Spain, who were crowned European champions in 2008.


Netherlands: Maarten Stekelenburg; Gregory van der Wiel, John Heitinga, Joris Mathijsen, Giovanni van Bronckhorst (Edson Braafheid, 105); Mark van Bommel, Nigel de Jong (Rafael van der Vaart, 99); Arjen Robben, Wesley Sneijder, Dirk Kuyt (Eljero Elia, 71); Robin van Persie

Spain: Iker Casillas; Sergio Ramos, Gerard Piqué, Carles Puyol, Joan Capdevila; Sergio Busquets, Xabi Alonso (Cesc Fàbregas, 87); Andrés Iniesta, Xavi, Pedro (Jesús Navas, 60); David Villa (Fernando Torres, 106)

6Shots on target5
6Shots off target13
8Yellow Cards5
1Red Cards0
44Ball possession (%)56

Please subscribe to our RSS feed to receive more updates. You can also subscribe by Email and enjoy our latest posts sent directly to your inbox.

Also see:

Post a Comment