FIFA releases goal of the year contenders | inside World Soccer

FIFA releases goal of the year contenders

Wednesday, November 17, 2010

FIFA released on Tuesday its shortlist for the 2010 Puskás Award which recognizes the best goal of the year in soccer.

The list has been drawn up using the following criteria: aesthetics; the importance of the match; the absence of luck or an opposition mistake as a factor making the goal possible; fair play; and the date, with only goals scored between 1 January and 15 October 2010 counting.

The scorers of the goals in question are Hamit Altintop, Matthew Burrows, Linus Hallenius, Lionel Messi, Samir Nasri, Neymar, Arjen Robben, Siphiwe Tshabalala, Giovanni van Bronckhorst and Kumi Yokoyama.

The FIFA Puskás Award will be presented for the second time at the FIFA Ballon d'Or gala 2010, which will be held at the Kongresshaus in Zürich on 10 January 2011.

Real Madrid star Cristiano Ronaldo picked up the 2009 award for his 40-yard screamer for Manchester United against FC Porto in the 2008-09 Champions League quarter-finals.

Videos of the ten goals, as well as the list of scorers and the voting tool, can be found at

Don't forget to join us on Twitter, Facebook, Youtube and Instagram

Also see:
Copyright © 2016. inside World Soccer | Privacy Policy
Design by Herdiansyah Hamzah & Distributed by Free Blogger Templates
Creative Commons License